Dominika Cibulkova knocked Caroline Wozniacki out of the St. Petersburg WTA tournament yesterday in a match that featured one of the most baffling decisions made by a chair umpire we’ve seen in a long time.

Down 5-3 in the second set, Wozniacki returned a Cibulkova shot that was initially called out. That shot was declared in upon review, and the point was awarded to Cibulkova. What the chair umpire refused to acknowledge, though, is that Wozniacki fairly returned the shot. There’s no circumstance by which the point could ever be awarded to Cibulkova, but that’s exactly what happened.

(Wozniacki held serve anyway, but it wasn’t enough to overcome her opponent. She lost in straight sets.)

Advertisement

[Tennis Channel]

To contact the author of this post, write to tim@deadspin.com (PGP key) or find him on Twitter @bubbaprog.

Sponsored